Kindness Matters Monday (5-7-17)


Hi friends,
Last night I made a passing comment to my children but today I decided to act on it. 
Tell me if this sounds familiar: Kid one says something. Kid two makes a sassy comment. Kid one rebuttals. Kid two repeats sassy comment. Kid one says stop it. Kid two repeats sassy comment. Kid one yells stop it. Kid two repeats sassy comment. Parent asks kid two to please stop. Kid two quietly repeats sassy comment. Kid one and Parent yell, just stop it. 

Know what I’m talking about? After an episode or two just like this last night I said in exasperation, “Why can’t you just be kind to each other?!” That’s when I made my comment/threat. “I’m going to make this week Kindness Week. Every day you have to do something kind.” I said something but I didn’t do anything. 

While doing the school drop off thing I noticed myself speaking in a “firm and frustrated” voice to the other parents doing their school drop off thing. “You’re suppose to pull all the way forward so the cars behind you can pull up to the curb too. Idiot!”  

And then I realized how much not only my children need to show more kindness but I need to also. 

So I am doing something. I am starting Kindness Week. My challenge for you and me and my stinker face children is to purposefully do something kind each day. From today until next Monday I challenge each one of us to make a conscious effort to go out of our way to do something kind to somebody in our path each day. It doesn’t have to be big. It doesn’t have to be grand. It can be subtle. It can be small. Just one thing that shows kindness.

A few years ago I had a sign made to hang in my home that says “Kindness Matters”. It’s time for me and each of us to act on that. I know my children can be more kind. I know I can definitely be more kind. The world could use some more kindness. Why not start with us?

“Spread love wherever you go: first of all in your own house. Give love to your children, to your wife or husband, to a next door neighbor… Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness; kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your warm greetings.” -Mother Teresa

Last Wednesday Holly Heap would have turned four but Holly has passed away. Her father, former NFL player Todd Heap, accidentally hit her while moving his truck. To remember Holly on her birthday the family asked everyone to spread love and joy through random acts of kindness. They said Holly gave the best hugs so they asked everyone to post their act of kindness using the hashtag #hugsforholly 

“As we rise each morning, let us determine to respond with love and kindness to whatever might come our way.” -Thomas S. Monson

Let’s keep the kindness going. I commit to doing something kind everyday this week. I will post reminders and great quotes and messages on Facebook and Instagram. And I ask that you please, please, please share your acts of kindness. Shoot me an email or post it on social media use hashtag #kindnessmattersmonday

Here are some ideas of ways to show kindness: give a hug, chat with someone in the grocery line, leave a bigger tip than normal, call a friend, call your mom, call your dad, bring in your neighbor’s trash can, share your cookies, compliment someone, leave a note, smile. 

This email is a little late but it’s never to late to show love. I hope and pray that I show you love through these emails and in other ways. Let’s all show love this week by spreading kindness like confetti. 

You are amazing and have something amazing to give. The world needs someone like you. 

I love you,
Kendra

Leave a Reply

