Good Monday (4-17-17)

Good morning!
I hope you had a lovely Easter weekend. Mine was filled with lots of family, candy and a little bit of bunny shaped chocolate cake. 

On Friday I had the amazing opportunity of visiting the homeless. A friend of mine goes about twice a month to downtown Phoenix. She not only hands out water, food and supplies but meets and visits with some of the homeless. She was so kind in letting me tag along. I want to share her Instagram post from Friday.  


“It’s a very Good Friday for some human kindness. Today’s theme was SOCKS and SODA!!! We also handed out Easter cookies. This is Jerry. He just moved to a halfway house yesterday and showed me 60 pictures of it. He also liked my shoes a lot and then asked if I was married. Haha! I said, “Jerry, are you hitting on me?” He said, “Can’t hurt to try” !! 😂😂😂 Also, we met a lady named Cathy who was having a really rough day. She and her boyfriend had a fight and now she can’t find him and she has to go into the hospital for the next several days for her epilepsy. They will be forcing seizures to try and help her. She is very scared Soooo, if anyone has room in their prayers for her, that would be great. I can’t imagine having to go through something like that on my own. She will be losing her spot at the shelter as well. Tough stuff. I love meeting these people And hearing about their lives and stories. We all have a story and purpose. Mine is to take notice of the people around me and let them know I see them. Cause how lonely it is to feel invisible.”

I love my friend’s words. “We all have a story and purpose.”

Lately I have only been interested in my own story. I have been walking around trying to be invisible for my own selfish reasons. I have missed out on opportunities to let others know I see them (especially my own family. I’m sorry family.) The intent of my Monday emails is to let others know I see them. But it does little good if I “see them” in an email and then ignore them in real life. 

I know my story and am learning my purpose. What is your story? What is your purpose? If you are still learning your purpose maybe we can learn together. Until we discover our own we can steal my friend’s. Together we can start to take notice of the people around us. Wouldn’t that truly make a good Monday? 

“We all have a story and purpose. Mine is to take notice of the people around me and let them know I see them. Cause how lonely it is to feel invisible.”

My dear friends. I love you. I notice you. You are strong and amazing. You have good to do. Let’s go out and do it!

Love,

Kendra

Leave a Reply

