Broken Mondays (1-30-17)


Hello my friends.

How are you today?

Have you ever heard of “kintsukuroi”? I hadn’t either but I am now fascinated with it. Kintsukuroi is the Japanese art of repairing broken pottery with gold. The pottery becomes more beautiful because it is broken. The breakage and repair becomes apart of its history rather than something to hide. It is a Japanese philosophy of embracing the flawed and imperfect. It’s also called the Japanese art of recognizing beauty in broken things.

Aren’t we all broken? Aren’t we all, like the porcelain pottery, fragile and susceptible to breakage? We all have our breaks and dings and chips. But how do we treat them? Do we hide our breaks? Do we take the time to mend our breaks? Do we search for the damage in others? Are we gentle to those who are breaking?

At times I am ignorant of my own broken pottery yet very critical of others. I can also be forgiving and tolerant to others’ broken pieces but often repulsed and unforgiving of my own.

I love this quote by Jeffrey R. Holland, especially the last sentence.

“Though we may feel we are “like a broken vessel,” as the Psalmist says, we must remember, that vessel is in the hands of the divine potter. Broken minds can be healed just the way broken bones and broken hearts are healed. While God is at work making those repairs, the rest of us can help by being merciful, nonjudgmental, and kind.”

Can we begin to look at the broken, including ourselves, as more beautiful and of more worth? Like the Kintsukuroi pottery can we embrace the flawed and imperfect? Can we be merciful, nonjudgemental and kind?

Can I be merciful, nonjudgemental and kind to myself?

I so much want to be the potter that adds gold to beautify and strengthen all the broken pottery. I think we all can be. A little bit of kindness gold here and a little bit of nonjudgemental gold there. I think we can do it! I think we can all be beautiful pieces of Kintsukuroi pottery!

Have a great week. You are important, you are special, you are so very very loved.

Love,

Kendra

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2013/10/like-a-broken-vessel?lang=eng

Leave a Reply

